Dear Readers,1mmdyiyZw0R2U8cKsiYsCQ_r

My newest novel, ‘Mercy’s Refuge’, is now available in ebook and paperback. This novel was an amazing writing adventure. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08J8HF7W4/ref=dbs_a_def_rwt_bibl_vppi_i0

Inspired by William Bradford’s ‘Of Plymouth Plantation’, Mercy’s Refuge is a sweeping historical novel of romance and adventure in the year 1620. Mercy McCrea, orphaned as a child and raised by her aging grandparents, lives in poverty. The only thing keeping her and her family from starvation is to work as a kitchen servant for a rich nobleman.

#Acover designWhen catastrophe strikes and Mercy’s life is in danger, she flees England for her uncle’s farm in Holland. There she meets Caleb, a carpenter, and finds refuge among the Separatists who fled the wrath of the English King. Beginning in Ipswich, a North Sea port town in Suffolk, England, the novel takes the reader on a voyage across the English Channel to Holland, and then aboard the Mayflower.

When Mercy and Caleb face the dangers of the sea, their faith and love for each other is strengthened by the strong bonds of a people whose courage forged a nation.

Riveting historical fiction. One of the reigning queens of descriptive imagery and masterful storytelling, Rita Gerlach, has set the bar high.~ Diana Flowers, reviewer.

What a wonderful story, filled with rich history and romance. Rita Gerlach’s best book so far.  Fiction Fan/Amazon reviewer

‘Mercy’s Refuge’ is indisputably Rita Gerlach’s finest historical novel yet. Unlike many romantic novels, Rita brings her stories to life through her deep immersion into the history and culture of the period. This time, she has written the gripping tale of a young woman fleeing dangerous enemies to join the other passengers aboard the Mayflower. I believe Rita Gerlach is one of our finest authors today in the category of inspirational historical novels.  Author and Editor Barbara Scott

We have a Facebook Group  entitled Mayflower 400th: Mercy’s Refuge, with lots of interesting facts regarding English life in the 17th century, as well as the Mayflower voyage. It’s a fun group, so if you haven’t joined, please come by at https://www.facebook.com/groups/249323152879604/

From Rita: Writing After the Rain. This is a story dear to my heart. I wrote this romantic historical while going through a tough year and recovery from breast cancer, which I beat.

It’s 1908, a year in the Edwardian era, the year J.M. Barrie’s play What Every Woman Knows premiered in Atlantic City and the first Model T rolled off the assembly line in Detroit, Michigan.

Louisa Jane Borden lives a privileged life in a mansion in Chevy Chase, Maryland, a new and thriving community on the outskirts of Washington, DC for the well-to-do. Against the wishes of her domineering grandmother, Louisa retreats from the prospects of a loveless marriage to the future Lord Pencroft, an upper crust Englishman who will be land rich but cash poor upon the death of his uncle. Rupert Eastcott finds Louisa’s dowry and future inheritance more desirable than her beauty or wit.

Louisa is unnerved her life has been planned out by her grandmother and decides to vent her frustration with a ride along Rock Creek Park. When her horse is spooked, she is thrown—an embarrassing situation for any affluent young lady. Soaking wet, bruised, and humiliated, she is helped by Jackson O’Neil, who changes the course of everything.

This epic novel is available from Amazon in paperback and ebook. Thank the Lord, we don’t wear corsets anymore!

More News!   267267_w185

The Daughters of the Potomac Series is now available in audio at Audible. Listen to actress Christine Marshall read these stories as she captures each character and brings the stories to life.


Before the Scarlet Dawn: book 1     

Beside Two Rivers: book 2

Beyond the Valley: book 3